; Full Commission | Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission
Full Commission
Charleta B. Tavares
Sen. Charleta B. Tavares

Assistant Minority Leader
Jonathan Dever
Rep. Jonathan Dever


There is established an Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission consisting of thirty-two members. Twelve members shall be appointed from the General Assembly as follows: three by the President of the Senate, three by the Minority Leader of the Senate, three by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and three by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives. On or before the tenth day of January every even-numbered year, the twelve General Assembly members shall meet, organize, and elect two co-chairpersons, who shall be from different political parties. Beginning in 2014, the twelve General Assembly members shall elect one co-chairperson from each house of the General Assembly. The members shall then, by majority vote, appoint twenty Commission members, not from the General Assembly. All appointments shall end on the first day of January of every even-numbered year, or as soon thereafter as successors are appointed, and the Commission shall then be re-created in the manner provided above. Members may be reappointed. Vacancies on the Commission shall be filled in the manner provided for original appointments.

Meeting Materials:

June 30, 2017

June 08, 2017

May 11, 2017


Page Frame Bottom